If We Were Having Coffee . . . (Fall Break Edition)

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you it’s been a fabulous week. Nothing out-of-the-ordinary happened, which is always good 🙂 I’m loving the weather we’ve been having — sunny days, not too hot — and it’s great to be back on the social media.

My grandson’s doing well in school. He likes to practice his spelling with sidewalk chalk.

SpellingTest 14_10_11

He’s super-excited to have two days off this week for fall break. I’m pretty stoked about fall break myself. I just wish our breaks coincided so we could spend the time together. We’ve got a big trip planned for the week of Halloween. It’s the prefect thing for a six-year-old and he doesn’t know about it yet. I’m eagerly anticipating the excitement when we tell him we’re going.

I’d tell you my fabulous sister is in the midst of written Ph.D. comps right now. I want to call her and ask her how it’s coming, but I don’t want to be a distraction, so I’m feeding the Monster this weekend and wishing her well.

Getty stock image.

Getty stock image.

It seems as though the blogs are mostly back on track for now. Diana’s decided to blog the new season of American Horror Story. David (who had a big birthday recently) has the comics covered at Sourcerer and Will’s on his way to blogging the entire season of Doctor Who. I’m doing the same at Part Time Monster, and I have a plan for this blog. Life in the blogosphere is suddenly good again.

Speaking of plans for this blog, here’s the short version. I’m building it from the weekend up, because these coffee posts are the most popular thing I’ve done here yet. Here are a few things I’m planning to try out here over the next couple of months.

  • Later this month, I’m moving the Sunday blogging and social media posts over here for a few weeks and see how they do.
  • Since it looks as though Diana’s American Horror Story posts are running on Thursdays, I’ll also post my Thursday Thirteen lists here for awhile.
  • As soon as I am able to work one more feature into my writing schedule, I’m going to start a Monday series here which is basically a memoir. These should be easy posts to write, and based on my experience, I think they’ll be a hit.

I’d just have to tell you, too, that I’ve impressed myself with the Twitter growth. I’m not one to brag about follower counts and such, but the Twitter success is making me very happy. Since I finished and scheduled last week’s social media post, I’m up almost 500 followers with @Sourcererblog, and I’ve doubled @justgeneo‘s following this week. I am confident now that I know what I’m doing over there, and it’s not taking an inordinate amount of my time. I’ll talk a bit more about the Twitter experience in the coming weeks. I’m also planning to spend some of my social media blogging time on WordPress tips this fall.

Have a fabulous weekend, and feel free to drop me a link to your coffee post!

2 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee . . . (Fall Break Edition)

Talk to Me!