Zero to Hero: Day 1

zero-to-hero

I’ve been blogging for a couple of months now, and I’ve decided to give “Zero to Hero” a try to see if I can learn anything from it. This being day one, I am supposed to introduce myself. You can find my blogging profile here and even more info about me on my Google+ page.

The reason I am blogging, rather than keeping a personal journal, is that I frequently write things I want people to read. At this blog, I mostly write about writing, writers, and literature, and I would love to connect with other writers here.

I have another blog, Sourcerer, which is devoted to movies, music, fantasy, science fiction, the social sciences, and (occasionally) political topics. I am recruiting contributors for Sourcerer from among my personal friends, and I hope to build it into a collaborative blog over the next year.

I also contribute a weekly post to my sister’s blog, Part Time Monster. We started all of these blogs at the same time, along with Universal Half Truths, which belongs to my sister’s fiance. The idea was to use this little network of blogs to build a big audience for them all, and offer our friends the opportunity to contribute to them.

Our first two months have been a very positive experience, and I feel as though we’ve laid the foundation for a successful blogging operation, if we can keep our sites updated frequently enough and keep the quality of our content good. For the most part, I think we’ve met the goals I set in October when we started this, and I will soon be laying out a plan to take us through the spring.

Here is what I would like to accomplish in 2014:

  1. I would like to be able to look at our stats and see a consistent audience, even if it is a small one.
  2. I would like to have a handful of regular contributors for PTM and Sourcerer in addition to Diana, Sam, and myself.
  3. I would like to see some people commenting on the things we post.

I think those are modest goals, and I hope Zero to Hero will teach me some things that I can use to help us achieve them.

8 thoughts on “Zero to Hero: Day 1

  1. Pingback: Willie + Snoop = Awesome! | Sourcerer

  2. Pingback: Why did I start blogging? | alienorajt

  3. Hiya!

    Thank you for your support kind sir on my post! Twas nice of you! 🙂

    I’ve personally been blogging since 2006, on and off really. You’d be surprised how difficult maintaining and audience can actually be… even a small one! Though if you work with and around computers a lot and have some spare time on your hands you’ll be able to juggle it.

    All the best!

    – Phil

    Like

  4. Pingback: Riding the mind behind strange eyes…Zero to hero Day 16 | alienorajt

Talk to Me!

