Zero to Hero 11: Good Neighbors

zero-to-hero

I decided to use my Zero to Hero time today to find and comment on three blogs that are doing interesting work on J.R.R. Tolkien. I chose this topic because I am working on a long weekly series on Tolkien for Part Time Monster at the moment, and I enjoy discussing Tolkien’s work. Two of my three comments led to conversations, so now I have at least two new neighbors to chat with.

All Things Tolkien – I commented here on a post about the nature of evil in Tolkien’s Silmarillion, because I enjoy that sort of discussion, and I’ve been chatting about it elsewhere for the last couple of weeks.

Pages Unbound is sponsoring a Lord of the Rings read-along and spoiler-free discussion for those who are reading it for the first time. I plan to add to the discussion from time to time as the read-along progresses. They also have a link to a nice post at Chasm of Books, a Blogger site, about Hobbits and Gossip (which I also commented on).

Sweating to Mordor – This project intrigues me. The idea is that the blogger at this site is reading Tolkien as he covers the same distance as the journey to Mordor on his elliptical machine, then he blogs about the passage he just read. He’s quite a good blogger, and knows his Tolkien. He is on Day 11 or 12 of the journey right now, so really just getting started.

In addition to commenting and following, I connected to these blogs on other social media where I was able.

I am enjoying the Zero-to-Hero challenge very much, but this will be my last Z2H post here, because I feel as though I need to return to more writing-centric work here and write about the other aspects of blogging elsewhere. I will complete the challenge, but beginning tomorrow, I will do my Z2H posting at Sourcerer.

Thanks to all you Writing Catalog followers who have stayed with me since mid-December. I care very much about this blog, and I want it to become something that is truly useful to people who are looking to improve their writing skills. Helping people write better is one of my missions in life, but I am still learning how to translate that onto this blog.

If you would like to see what the non-writing aspects of the Zero-to-Hero challenge can do for a blog, take a look at the new-and-improved Sourcerer. Most of the design decisions I’ve made over there this weekend have been informed in some way by Zero to Hero. I plan to redesign this blog in the next few weeks, because I want it to look as good as Sourcerer.

I will also mention that I am a member of this discussion group on Facebook. It is a small, open group, and a few of the members have just started a Silmarillion read-along. I share links to my own Tolkien work here and add my thoughts to others’ threads.

Talk to Me!

