On Kelly Cherry’s The Life and Death of Poetry

— I haven’t blogged anything about poetry in a while, and I really like this review. If you follow poetry, you should check out The Line Break’s list of favorite poetry sites. This blog is written by the editor of Reactions: Poetry & Poetics.

The Line Break

A version of this review (and a better edited version) may appear in a future issue of Redactions: Poetry, Poetics, & Prose issue 18, due out July 2, 2014.//

Kelly Cherry's – The Life and Death of PoetryThe Life and Death of Poetry (Louisiana State University Press, 2013), is an ambitious title to fulfill, especially in 68 pages of poetry. I could write about how Kelly Cherry manages to achieve this, but instead I want to think about beginnings. I want to mainly focus on how this book of poems opens and then moves, because after my first reading, I wasn’t convinced the book’s opening poem was the best poem to open the book with. I thought it a good opening poem, but I thought there was a better choice with the poem “Underwriting the Words”:

 Ousted from heaven, we crashed into language. Incomparable music gave way to words. Authors filled auditoriums with their friends. Orpheus wrote…

View original post 1,324 more words

Talk to Me!

