Write Fiercely in 2014

— Here here! My resolution for this year is to produce 3,000 words a week on a fantasy novel I’ve been struggling with for years, for at least 10 months out of the year. Probably will start this in February; I’m putting most of my writing into blogs at the moment, because getting them up and running has been my top priority since fall, and we’re nearly there. Blogging every day has improved my writing in just a couple of months, and I think I’ve figured out what’s missing from my fiction. At least I have an idea, and the reason I have that idea is because I’ve been reading writing blogs and thinking about my fiction-writing process a lot since we started these blogs.

Carving Out A Space

Now that the holidays are over and the new year is upon us, we are free to think about our writing resolutions for the coming year.

image

So, what are they? To finally shop that novel you’ve been pouring your soul into for the better part of your adult life? Maybe you want to sign up for a writing class? Drive traffic to your website so more readers can stumble upon your writerly genius, making you an overnight success such as the world has never seen? (That sounds great! Sign me up.)

Or maybe you just want to finish a sentence, a chapter, a paragraph.

Whatever it is that you wish to accomplish in the coming year, you can. The real trick to completion and your own level of success is, first, getting started.

You know, just write. It’s that simple and that difficult. To those who don’t write, it seems…

View original post 126 more words

Talk to Me!

