Reading outside the box

– I say yes, it is a good idea. At the very least, read some classic literature or something from a different genre that has elements of romance. I read outside my beloved fantasy genre quite often, and I find it profitable. I do have books that I go back to regularly, though. Most of those are either fantasy, nonfiction, or classical lit.

Taylor Grace

I received a lot of comments the other day suggesting authors who don’t write in romance. It got me thinking…should I step outside my beloved genre? I know, I know. Shocking. Call it a sign of cabin fever or delirium from this never-ending winter we’ve been enjoying but I started to consider reading something other than romance.

The idea got me thinking, do readers ever read something other than their favourite genre? Do you ever read outside your genre? Does anyone? Is it a good idea? Do you go running back to the books you love with renewed appreciation or do you discover a new type of writing you love? Is it worth it or is it a terrible-experience-never-to-be-repeated?

Honestly, I feel a little scared about trying it.

View original post

Talk to Me!

