My Other Job: Reading

I haven’t talked about the importance of reading to improving your writing here in awhile, but it’s one of the three most important things for a writer to be doing. (The other two are writing and getting people to read your work.) Happy Friday!

Time to Write

I’m a writer, not an author, yet. I have four jobs. Husband/Father, Day job, writer, and reader. Today, I’m gonna focus on the reader job.

I realized that reading is an important part of my writing life. Essential. So I have made it a job. A fun job. I set aside time for reading just like I set aside time for writing. I have reading goals. I read books I wouldn’t normally read because I’m trying to learn something.

I focused on reading just three years ago. I identified it as one of my jobs last fall. It’s a great job! I like the discovery of reading just like I like discovering the details of a story when I write.

I’m not saying anything new. The majority of writers I know are readers first. Their love for writing came from their love of reading.

That’s all. I need to go…

View original post 4 more words

Talk to Me!

