Here’s An Awesome Post

Just browsing around on my lunch break, looking for a quick reblog, I discovered an awesome guest post at Write On, Sisters!

Control Your Life/Get Out of Yourself, by Kathy Weyer. It’s all about the importance of getting out of your head and paying attention to the world now and then, as a way of re-energizing yourself. She suggests doing kindnesses for other people, and includes this list, which I love:

  • Call someone spontaneously to catch up.
  • Write a note to someone you haven’t seen in a while.
  • Take some stuff to Goodwill or the Salvation Army.
  • Return that thing you haven’t returned.
  • Go on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or wherever and send a book to someone. You can even lend an e- book you own to someone over the system; Amazon does this very well, and I hear B&N does, too.
  • Find a video on line and forward it to someone who can use a good laugh.
    Use your imagination!

I really can’t emphasize the importance of things like this enough. So much of creative work – especially writing – is mental, it’s easy to get lost in it and forget just how exhausting can be. It’s important to put the work aside and do other things regularly. I’ve spent a lot of time on the last couple of weekends doing just that. Going to little league games, swimming, spending time with my family, and getting outside with my camera. It’s done me a lot of good.

On a related note, here’s an amusing, but telling, conversation I had with my six-year-old grandson and my wife Vicki last night over dinner:

Me: Do you want some of these cucumbers?

Grandson: Ninnie already asked me that and I said “N – O.” Weren’t you listening?

Me: I’m sorry, I didn’t hear you. Sometimes when I’m thinking, I don’t hear people talking to one another.

Grandson: Are you thinking now?

Vicki: Your Pa is always thinking.

Grandson: *Exaggerated wide-eyed expression*

Me: I have a busier mind than any other person you’ll ever meet.

Grandson: Why don’t you just let it go?

Me: Let it go?

Grandson: Just empty your mind!

Me: When did you get to be a Zen master? Where did you learn that stuff?

Grandson: From Squidward.

You can follow Write On, Sisters! on Twitter @TweetOnSisters and learn more about Kathy Weyer at her webpage. I’ll have a post commemorating the six-month anniversary of The Writing Catalog and Sourcerer tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Here’s An Awesome Post

Talk to Me!

