Freedom’s just another word for “nothin’ left to lose” . . . (and I’m back!)

Not that I’d know. It’s been so long since I was in that state, I don’t even remember how it feels. It’s like trying to remember what it was like to be nineteen. I have plenty to lose, thankfully. But I’m feeling so good today I decided to post on three blogs, as is my wont from time to time, and I’m in the mood for some Janis. Sadly, I couldn’t find a live performance suitable for the blog. I did find Pink, though. And fabulous Pink, at that. This is far and away the best cover of Janis’ “Me and Bobbby McGee” I’ve ever heard. Enjoy!

If you’re interested in seeing what else I posted today, you can find weekend music and a general status update at Sourcerer. I’ve also got the Feminist Friday at Part Time Monster this week.selfportrait1

I’ve managed three real posts this week in addition to the Feminist Friday post: A Doctor Who Review at PTM, a Top Ten Tuesday, and a Banned Books Week Thursday Thirteen. I don’t remember the last time that happened, and it makes me happy.

The Saturday Coffee post is in the queue, Will’s Doctor Who review for tomorrow at Sourcerer is waiting in my inbox, and I have three more posts written except for the part where I sit down and type them out. As of this minute, I also have all day free tomorrow. Which is a roundabout way of saying that unless the Universe deals me a joker in the next 18 hours, I’M BACK!!!

The photoblogging has suffered a bit this week, but only because I’ve not spared a moment from the writing to crop and load photos. The photos will be back in short order.

This is me.

This is me.

I know I’ve probably left a few people hanging on some things over the past few weeks. I’m sorry about that — I don’t typically operate that way, but life got away from me and I wasn’t keeping good notes. I’ll try and touch base with everyone in the next week or so.

Now I’m going to answer a few comments and visit a few blogs. Then I’m headed to Twitter to reestablish my presence @Sourcererblog. Join me over there in a couple of hours if you’ve a mind. And while you’re here, what do you think about this idea for a series? A memoir with two threads — one thread is chronological and begins with my first memory, the other is a set of vignette-type pieces that are based on things I’ve actually experienced, but turned into creative nonfiction and told in no particular order. What about that?

Have a happy weekend, and feel free to treat this as an open thread. Or not, as you see fit. 🙂 😉 🙂 😀

10 thoughts on “Freedom’s just another word for “nothin’ left to lose” . . . (and I’m back!)

  1. Of course I’m sure everyone recognizes that life gets away from us all, but that said, glad to have you back!

    That sounds like a fun series, the occasional dip into memories seems to play well.

    Regarding the open thread: I just found a rerun of Gotham in about an hour while I have cable access, so I’ll shortly be finding out if it’s something I want to watch, and if it’s something I want to watch, it’ll be something I want to blog through. 😀 There’s been more interest in weekly Doctor Who posts than I expected, especially with so many blog friends doing them, and DC is my home turf (as opposed to Agents of Shield and whatnot), so fingers crossed it’s worth watching!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Speaking of Gotham, here’s a CompGeeks post about it from Holly that you might not want to read until you’ve seen it, but you do want to read it 🙂 http://comparativegeeks.wordpress.com/2014/09/25/first-impression-gotham/

      We’re getting good search hits from the Doctor Who stuff, which is a little surprising, given the size of the fanbase and the Internet frenzy over it.

      I’ve not see the Gotham yet, so now I have to decide between watching that or continuing my social media jaunt that started like three hours ago. I’m waltzing matilda tonight 😉

      Like

      • I shall!

        Me too — not incredible search hits, but some, which is more than I expected, especially since I’m getting them up two days after the episodes air. I don’t have a huge sample yet obviously, but with Ms. Marvel reviews, I only get good search traffic if I get them up the morning the comic comes out. Loki reviews are wildly unpredictable — my best day of views ever came from one random day that hundreds of people were searching for stuff related to Loki #2, months after it came out. Usually it’s not that extreme, but they do get good hits.

        And that is not an expression I’d ever heard before, so it’s going into rotation! Thanks! ;D

        Like

        • Lol, traffic from Loki is wildy unpredictable. Who would have thought? The reason the Ms. Marvel only gets the hits the day of is because that’s the only day people are looking for it, I think.

          For TV reviews with a decent fanbase, posting the day of or the day before the next episode is best, is what I think. Unless you’re talking about a weekend series. For Sat-Sun series, the best time to publish the review is 11 ET on Monday. You have a window until around 1 pm ET on Tuesday. If you can’t get it out then, write it and hold it until the Saturday before the new episode airs. This is why I’m posting the episode reviews on Monday and Will’s are going on Saturday. I could be wrong, of course, but it’s working pretty well for us.

          “Waltzing Matilda” is from an Australian Folk song with all sorts of imperialist and classist implications. It means wandering the Outback, free to do what you want but also fending for yourself, is the way I interpret it.

          Vocabulary:

          swag-man: A wandering dude
          billabong: Watering Hole
          billy: A can or pot you cook stuff like soup and coffee in.
          jumbuck: a sheep
          Tucker bag: rucksack
          Troopers: soldiers, but actually they work for the landlords more than the government.

          (sorry if you meant some other expression — can’t take a chance of you putting “Waltzing Matilda” into the rotation without all that contextual info) 😉

          Like

          • (Ha! about Loki). I actually get Ms. Marvel search hits for several days after the appropriate Wednesday, but ONLY if I got it up first thing Wednesday morning. It’s really weird. (I also get them for images, but those are presumably people who have the comic and are looking for an already-internet-ized image of something.)

            Interesting info on the Who stuff. I’m getting them up first thing Monday, so that fits.

            That was the expression, although I hadn’t found the song yet. 😀 Google sent me to a movie title and some other stuff first.

            Like

                • Gotham is bloggable, I think. I’m not going to blog it, but if I knew DC really well and had the time, I might. It’s a bit like Penny Dreadful, which played well: New series, not a huge fanbase, but a potentially interested one.

                  The key to it, if you do, is to make sure your headlines and your first paragraphs are loaded with search terms: Episode titles, Bruno Heller’s name, actors, etc. Take a look at the beginnings of Diana’s Penny Dreadful and True Blood reviews, and my Doctor Who reviews with an analytical eye, and you’ll see what I mean.

                  Like

                  • I really liked it, but I haven’t decided yet if I want to blog it. Doctor Who takes up a huge chunk of my soul’s real estate already, so TM would feel incomplete to me without it. Although I guess Batman does too. 😉 I probably will, at least for a bit, or maybe just do periodic posts when something interesting happens. Thanks!

                    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

