If We Were Having Coffee . . . (Social Media Reboot Edition)

I’m actually having my coffee as I write this one today. First, a big thanks to Saxton-Corner of Way of the Wytch for nominating me for the One Lovely Blog Award. I don’t always pass award nominations along because of the time and effort required, and because of the mixed feelings so many people have about awards. But personally, I love them. So I always try and say thanks with a link on my front page and take a look at the other bloggers who were nominated along with me.

Getty stock image.

Getty stock image.

I took Thursday and Friday off from work, and despite my best intentions to write ahead and get some blogs scheduled for next week, I ended up spending most of my time reading blogs and Tweeting. It felt good, and I’m not behind — just not as far ahead as I’d like. In the meantime a lot of bloggers know I’m back, I broke 3,000 Twitter followers with my @Sourcererblog account overnight, and I feel refreshed, so that little bit of networking was totally worth it. My plan for today is to see how many blog posts I can load in the next four hours, then hit Twitter and spend some time getting my personal account, @justgeneo, active again.

As most of you know, I’m a bit down on Facebook, and I have been for awhile. I made a decision this week to use my personal timeline to talk to bloggers from time to time and share blogs I like, and see if that changes anything. I decided to do this for a few reasons.

  • The only new Facebook friends I’ve picked up in months have been bloggers who I’ve talked to long enough to be ok letting them into my personal Facebook network.
  • I’m already using Facebook private communication to talk to bloggers, and I’m not talking to anyone else there at this point, really. The only other people who pay attention to my Facebook account are family and random people who like my photos.
  • If I’m going to bother with Facebook at all, I need to find something useful to do with my personal timeline, and most of what I post there is posted publicly anyway. So, maybe this will work. Maybe not. I’ll have a better idea in a few weeks.

Once I get my personal Twitter account active again, the next three items on my list are:

  1. Build more pages for our collected works section here and turn this page into a real index page for that section,
  2. Get my Tumblr page posting and gaining followers again, and
  3. Organize my Google Plus contacts into real circles and get back to interacting there. I haven’t been active on this network in a long time, and I sorta miss it.

It will probably take me a month or more to work through these three items, but as long as they’re done by January, I’ll be pleased with the progress.

Diana and I have another little rough patch coming. Even though I have more time to spend on the social media now, she starts Ph.D. comps at the end of this week. That’s a process that takes a while to complete and the stakes are very high. So, as you can imagine, our stress level is less-than-ideal right now. I’ll be filling in at Part Time Monster a bit more than usual beginning at the end of next week, so that means a little less posting from me at the other blogs. Keeping the Monster posting is my first priority because it’s been our most successful blog from day one. Even though I like to have several blogs, my ultimate goal is for one of those blogs to be BIG. The Monster’s the most likely candidate to go big, so it has to get the most attention when we’re strapped.

I’ll also be going on vacation at the end of this month. I’m hitting the road for Florida the Wednesday before Halloween and won’t be back until the Tuesday after. I’ll have a little time to blog and check in while I’m gone, but not as much as I normally do.

In the meantime, I’m blogging like crazy. I’ll have a social media post at Sourcerer tomorrow about Twitter. If you’re interested in that network and you haven’t seen my Twitter archive, you should check it out. It’s got a lot of helpful info, and includes several posts I wrote to help people figure out how to get started and build a following there. Most of what I know about Twitter was learned through trial and error, with help from more experienced people who shared their knowledge with me. It took me months to figure Twitter out. There’s no reason it should take you months when I’ve written all this stuff down for you. 🙂

Enjoy the rest of your weekend, and have a great week! Drop me a link to your coffee post if you like.

8 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee . . . (Social Media Reboot Edition)

  1. Facebook has been a strange beast for social media. One of the challenges I’ve had their is that I have an author page (because my private facebook is JUST for family and friends) and from an author page I can’t actually “Friend” people. I can like other pages, but I can’t be in groups and I can’t “friend people” which makes it harder to interact with people there. Really want to participate in some of the writing groups I’m in over there FROM my author-page (which would allow for me to actually connect with people outside of the group) but the system wont allow it – which really does limit its usefulness.
    Good luck on the goals!

    Like

    • I have a friend who has one personal account for friends and family, another for her writing and blogging to avoid that very problem. And yes, it is annoying not to be able to interact more as a page. I’d love to do a lot more on Facebook as Sourcerer.

      Like

  2. I have always had a love/hate relationship with Facebook. I only recently started networking with bloggers on Facebook. And I do it from my personal page. I struggled with that, I really like to keep personal and blogging separate. But in the end, I didn’t want to manage two pages and I have heard of some people getting questioned and banned from FB because they had two accounts. (I guess that’s why Ello is taking off). I finally decided to just go for it. Now I’m loving FB. I have more bloggers in my feed and more connecting and groups and it’s drowning out some of the typical annoying FB posts that come with having a personal FB page. Now I’m getting more great content in my feed and it’s making FB so much better! I’ll be in touch, probably tomorrow about Fem. Friday…

    Like

    • I resisted Facebook for almost its entire lifespan. I joined Facebook last October just to have a few people to read my first blog posts, hee hee.

      I also mix the personal with the blogging on FB. The people who know me personally, aside from a tiny sliver who REALLY know me, mostly ignore me on Facebook. I’m doing the speak to bloggers thing for a little while just to see what happens with that, but I don’t have high hopes for it.

      I kind of wish I’d only friended bloggers from the beginning there and just not told anyone else I was on FB. I’d only have 20 people on my friends list a year later, but I’d be able to keep up with every. single. one. And they’d all be interested in what I have to say.

      Like

Talk to Me!

