If We Were Having Coffee . . . (Facebook Edition)

If we were having coffee, I would tell you I’ve had a fabulous week. I wore a jacket for the first time this year on Wednesday. It was a light one, and I only wore it long enough to walk home from work, but still. As much as I love fall, I’m missing the summer already. And I would tell you I’m trying some new things with my Facebook pages. If you’d like to leave a link to your blog or your fanpage on the meetup thread at the top of my page, you’re welcome to do it. (Apologies, I couldn’t get the post to embed properly for some reason).

Getty stock image.

Getty stock image.

This is a bit of a Hail Mary. I didn’t promote it because I was busy wrapping up the Feminist Friday Project at Part Time Monster while Luther and I were doing a big Follow Friday on Twitter. If it doesn’t get many looks, I won’t be surprised, but you’re invited to join in, and I will look at every link dropped on the thread. (And speaking of Luther, his first contribution runs at Sourcerer within the hour, and you don’t want to miss it!)

If you have a fanpage and you’re not sure if I’m following it, this weekend is an opportunity to bring it to my attention without the weirdness that comes with asking someone to like your page. My shares on Facebook aren’t worth much, but I do have the ability to give you both a personal follow and two page likes. I also have the ability to invite a few other bloggers to like your page if I think it will interest them.

I’d tell you, too, that I’m changing the whole way I do Facebook. I’ve got a private list of bloggers and fan pages that I’m liking every day, and I’ve removed a lot of non-blog-related content from my feeds. Within a couple of weeks, my main news feed will be full posts from friendly bloggers. I’m also going to start sharing updates on my fanpages other than the publicized links from my own blogs. A Sourcerer’s page, I’ll share geeky blog posts — mostly television and comics-related because that’s what we write about most often over there. On my personal page, I’ll share link for the friends and regular readers who support this blog.

I have no idea if this will be worth it. We’ll give it a few weeks and see. But I’m kinda stuck with Facebook. I need a real presence on a third network, and all my behind-the-scenes collaboration is done on Facebook, so I have to spend time there often. It makes more sense to try and get more out of the fanpages than it does to try and build a presence on a fourth network right now.

I’d tell you my family is doing great and I’ve had a fine fall break. We’re going on vacation week-after-next. It’s supposed to be a surprise for the little one. He knows we’re planning it, but he doesn’t know we’ve got everything booked and we’ve been vague about our plans.  He suggested yesterday to Vicki that Halloween would be the time to go. The boy’s got a touch of the ESP, I think.

How’s your Saturday?

4 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee . . . (Facebook Edition)

    • I will surely drop by 🙂

      And yeah, Facebook is terrible for building followers. What it’s good for, at least to me, is coordinating stuff and kicking ideas around that you aren’t necessarily ready to discuss on a blog.

      Most of my Fanpage likes came from sending personal invitations when I first set them up and trading likes with other bloggers. They’ve hardly grown at all in the last year.

      And I’m thinking now I should have just asked people to drop the links on the blog thread.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Blog Traffic and Engagement: What A Year of Everyday Posting Has Gotten Us | Sourcerer

  2. Pingback: The Dark Knight Returns and Moral Relativism | Comparative Geeks

Talk to Me!

