If We Were Having Coffee . . . (Vacation Edition)

If we were having coffee, I would tell you vacation week is upon me. On Monday, the office will be left neat and tidy with everything done. On Tuesday the suitcases will be packed. On Wednesday, the little dude, who is six, gets the surpise of his life when we pick him up from school. I’ll be out of town all next week and return next Tuesday.

The Little Dude having some fun. Creative Commons license rescinded for this one!

The Little Dude having some fun.

He knows where we are going, and he knows we’re going before his next birthday. He’s been loading up his piggy bank with the fastidiousness of a doomsday prepper for six months. But he has no idea we are going for Halloween. (There is a certain Mouse involved in all of this, so you can imagine what the ten-hour drive is going to be like, hee hee).

I would tell you even though I wanted to roll out a new set of About pages today, I did not get around to it. The text is written, but pages take time, and these next pages must be perfect. They are the new foundation of this project Diana and I have invested the last year in. I made a decision early in the week to promote #SundayBlogShare instead of building the pages. That was totally the right decision, and I will talk about #SundayBlogShare in a minute. But first, my new tagline bears a little discussion.

A blog for bloggers, with Weekend Coffee

  • “A blog for bloggers” is not a blog about blogging. Though I will share what I know about blogging here from time to time.
  • This blog is dedicated to finding interesting things for bloggers to do together and offering them the opportunities. That won’t happen every week, but given the number of bloggers I know, I think it will happen often enough to be worthwhile.
  • “with Weekend Coffee” is there because the Saturday Coffee post is the only one I can reliably deliver here for the next few months. Basically, I post here on Saturdays and that’s it unless I am promoting a blogging event or reblogging my friends.
  • The two phrases are a nice mix. It’s a friendly tagline. Welcoming to bloggers. I want it to send the message that all bloggers are welcome, here, not matter what they blog about.I believe I have finally nailed it.

    Getty stock image.

    Getty stock image.

I would tell you I’ll get those About pages up in a couple of weeks and give them a proper announcement, but right this second, I need to talk about #SundayBlogShare.

I won’t rehash the whole story of how I stumbled upon it in my WordPress reader last Sunday, tweeted it to 20 bloggers, and by the end of the day I’d played some small part in it becoming a regular thing. Nor how I spent the better part of a week seeing how many people I could share it with.

I’ll just tell you it’s been a good week. The Follow Friday went so well, I am writing a post about it at some point. Lots of introductions were made yesterday, and that is a good thing. I am glad I threw in on this one.

I’m looking forward to an awesome day of link sharing tomorrow. Thank you, Suzie, for dreaming this up at just the right moment, and for the reasonable rules.

That’s all I have today. This seems unfinished, but I am done.

Conrad, you are a prince.

2 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee . . . (Vacation Edition)

  1. Pingback: One more thing before I go | Sourcerer

Talk to Me!

