If We Were Having Coffee . . . (Commencement Week Edition)

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you I’ve made it through my first fall semester in the job I got just and Diana and I were kicking of these blogs. Everyone says I’m doing great at it, but even after a year, I don’t feel as though I am really on my feet with it yet. I’ll get there.

Getty stock image.

Getty stock image.

I’d tell you my family is doing great. No funny stories today, but my grandson’s school Christmas program was this week, and of course he was the cutest kid on the stage ๐Ÿ™‚ We’re looking forward to a fabulous holiday, even though we haven’t gotten enough of the preparation done.

Then I would grouse a little about how much work the administrative side of blogging is once you’ve got one established. About how I want to be writing and posting, but instead I am redesigning Sourcerer. The redesign is going great, though, and lots of friends have given me positive feedback on the basic idea.

I’d give you a word of advice about blogging. Work out your category structure before you start. Before you add new ones, think very carefully about whether you need them or not. You don’t want to have to blow your categories up and rebuild them once you’ve published hundreds of posts.

And I’d tell you all that time I spent on Facebook over the last couple of weeks has been worth it. I have enough friends over there who are bloggers, and who are mutual friends, for my fiendish plan to work even if I never send another friend suggestion. Though I certainly will make introductions from time to time.

I don’t have to get all the bloggers I know over there to be friends. I just have to be interesting enough to stay in their newsfeeds. If I can do that and keep making friends with bloggers, a timeline share from me will eventually be worth something. And I know how to do it. Images are the key to the whole thing. I’ll explain how it works once I’m a little further along.

Then I’d remind you about #SundayBlogShare and ask you what your plans are for the holiday, because I am just not feeling all that chatty this weekend.

14 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee . . . (Commencement Week Edition)

  1. Blogs take some bedding in don’t they? But I find a real community in them. You have space to say more of what you want and engage in conversations. For a year I think you have amazing followings. And as for not feeling chatty this weekend. We can’t be chatty all of the time. That’s fine as well. Enjoy the rest of your weekend. You work so hard.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for all that encouragement ๐Ÿ™‚

      I agree about there being real community in blogging, and I think we’ve done fantastic, following-wise. I did not expect to do this well. When we started I had no social media, and I didn’t even have a smartphone until August.

      My goal for this year is to get what I am doing organized and develop a routine for myself so I can get ahead with the content and stay ahead.

      Like

  2. I’m pretty new to blogging myself. I left mine dormant for over a year, afraid of my life of it, lol. until I got some encouragement from another blogger. There are some really friendly and large hearted members in the community and I feel privileged to be part of it. See you on SundayBlogShare. Have a good weekend.

    Like

    • You too, and I feel the same way. I’ve failed at blogging many times. I came back to it after being absent for years because a supportive group of people came along with me, so I totally understand.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’d tell you that the category structure advice is really useful and wish we’d discussed it before I had to rip mine to pieces and start again! But we’d laugh about it, especially as this whole blogging thing has so far been trial and error. I’d also congratulate you on all your hard work and marvel at the wonderful community I belong to ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • My problem in the beginning was that I didn’t know what sort of content I was going to end up with. Didn’t know for sure what sort of contributors were going to come on board, nor what would sell. And I knew nothing about how to build custom menus. Not learning that in August when I redesigned this blog was a huge mistake.

      All trial and error for me here, too. And thanks for your congratulations. The community is amazing, isn’t it?

      Like

Talk to Me!

