Fixing Facebook, Fanpage Edition

If this doesn’t put a smile on your face, I don’t know what will. It is more an event than a performance. It happened on a stage in Croatia four years ago, and I have no idea who these people are, but god bless YouTube. On to business.

I rolled out Sourcerer’s new look with the Weekend Music today. I’d love to know what you think about it. I’m also experimenting with a different way of using my Facebook pages. Here’s what I am doing on a trial basis.

I’ve disconnected this blog from the Just Gene’O page and am publicizing to Sourcerer’s page from here for awhile. I’ll still share the weekend coffee there and occasionally share things for friends, but that’s about all I am doing with the Just Gene’O page until I can figure out how to use it.

fblikeI’ve changed the Facebook follow widget here to show Sourcerer’s page, and set the Facebook widgets up on both blogs to display timeline activity rather than recent followers. I’ve done this so we can see what’s posting there without actually going to Facebook.

I will also start sharing things for other bloggers on Sourcerer’s page. Since I am not posting publicly from my personal account, this is how I do public shares. So people who aren’t friends can see the blogs I share, and friends have an easy way to share things from me they like without having their own audience limited by my privacy settings.

I chose Sourcerer because it’s the page that’s getting the most looks, and I’m only updating the Just Gene’O page with a couple of posts per week, anyway. That’s not enough sharing to do any good on Facebook from a page. Basically, I am concentrating a lot of blog-related Facebook activity at Sourcerer over the next year and hoping to create a busy public feed.

It will include:

  • Links to everything posted at Sourcerer, Part Time Monster, and Just Gene’O
  • Selected posts from friends and from blogs/pages I like.

Managing what you see on Facebook is nebulous, so I’ll tell you how I get pages I want to follow into my main news feed.

  1. I like a page to follow it.
  2. While I’m there, I like 3 to 6 posts and sometimes comment.
  3. This usually suffices to get it into my feed for a couple of days. I like a one or two items from the page per day and see what happens.
  4. If I start to see so much of one page that I feel like it’s crowding out other pages or friends I want to keep up with, I lay off the likes for a day or two.
  5. If it hits me that I’ve not seen a page for awhile, I go to the page, and if it’s posting regularly, give it a few likes to get more of it into my feed.Diabolo III free wallpaper from hqwide.com.

I use small private lists to easily find pages and give them likes when I’m not seeing enough of them. The trick with Facebook lists is to separate the pages that post a lot from the ones that post less often.

I am also building WordPress lists. You might want to check and make sure you have both Twitter and Facebook sharing enabled in your post footers.

By February, I’m going to be able to consistently see more of you in my reader than I’ve ever been able to see before. When I find just the right thing to share, I like to tweet it and share it on the page while I’m there.

10 thoughts on “Fixing Facebook, Fanpage Edition

  1. okay that sounds exhausting… almost as exhausting as my Reddit account, but that one really brings in views… the thing is I’ll need to convert those views to regular readers which is my strategy for next year. I’m also experimenting with Digg and Dilicous but found Reddit to be the most effective of this type of Social Network…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m thinking about Reddit, but I’ve never played there and don’t have the time to spend getting to know the community and sharing enough other stuff to get to the point where I can do my blogs any good there.

      And this part of it wasn’t exhausting at all. It only took a second, and I’m talking about at most 5 updates to that page per day, three of which are posted automatically, and two of which take an extra 10 seconds if sharing is enabled in peoples’ post footers.

      It was that conversation on that Bloppy thread the other night that made me think of doing this.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m way better with Twitter, myself. And BTW, have taken steps to see more of your tweets 🙂 Facebook is a must for me at this point. Most of the bloggers I’ve been talking to consistently since spring are friends over there now, and I’ve joined a couple of groups. I am hoping I can fix the Facebook next year the way I fixed Facebook this year.

      If I can do it and keep Sourcerer going, I’ll move into a link-sharing service that’s good for bringing in readers in 2016. StumbleUpon or Reddit, I am thinking.

      Like

Talk to Me!

