If We Were Having Coffee . . . (New Year Edition)

If we were having coffee, I’d ask you how you holidays went. Mine were fabulous, and I hope yours were, as well. I’d tell you am looking forward to the New Year. I’m headed back to work on Monday after a nice break and lots of family time and the blogs are in fine shape.

Getty stock image.

Getty stock image.

My grandson got his first gaming console for Christmas this year, so aside from all the time I’ve been spending on the social media the last couple of weeks, I’ve been racing dirt bikes and playing sports. It’s been a long time since I’ve done any gaming, and I’d forgotten how much fun it is. It also delights me that a six-year-old can beat me fair-and-square in tennis two matches out of three.

I’d tell you we’re starting the New Year in fine form at Sourcerer. We’re announcing four new contributors on Monday and Tuesday, and I’ve started the photoblogging back up there already. That blog took a lot of work, on the part of many different people, to develop. When I look at it, I’m genuinely impressed by what we’ve accomplished there. I still find it a little hard to believe that so many bloggers want to contribute to it, but I am gratified, and am thrilled to be the person who runs it.

Even though I didn’t get around to everything I’d hoped to do by today, I think I’ve accomplished enough of it. We have three weeks of Feminist Friday discussions scheduled to start on January 30 and a page we can share to make the promotion easier. We’re in good shape for the April A to Z Challenge at Sourcerer, even though it means I probably won’t be doing A to Z here.

I’ve also changed my blogging style a bit. I’ll still do essay-type writing sometimes, and detailed explanations when I think people really want them. But for the most part, I am using short paragraphs with lots of numbered lists and bullets. I am also experimenting with making my own memes. Both the new style, and the memes I’ve shared so far, seem to be getting my posts more reads, so I am keeping that up.

I have a lot of rough drafts I hammered out during the latter part of November to sift through and revise, as well as a new set of About pages for this blog. All that stuff will have to be done incrementally, but I’m further ahead on content now than I have been in six months. Hopefully I can stay ahead until Spring Break.

I’d tell you I am eager to touch base with a few friends who took the holidays off from blogging. And I am genuinely glad to be through the first year here. I’m also through the first full year of a job I got just as Diana and I were starting our blogs. So I have a feel for the rhythm of the year now. I know when to speed up, when to slow down, and how to best use my downtime to keep the content flowing consistently.

coffeeI’m looking foward to an awesome year of blogging. I am hoping that this is the year I get them running smoothly and easily enough to spend a less time on the computer and pick up a few other things that I let go last November when I decided to build a multi-contributor blog.

I wish you a fabulous year of blogging as well, and much success with your personal goals for this year, whatever they happen to be.

17 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee . . . (New Year Edition)

  1. I’d tell you I’m glad you had an awesome time, and that I did too (my family are a dysfunctional bunch but they’re mine!). I’d also tell you I can hear your excitement for the coming year, and that it is infectious, as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s good to start a new year, isn’t it? I’m glad to be back and just found inspiration to write via my new Rolling Stone magazine that came in the mail yesterday. To say I’m disgusted and angry would be an understatement! Look forward to reading all that you have to offer in 2015!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it is a good start so far. I am very happy that you are about again and now I have to go look at the online version of Rolling Stone, lol.

      In case you haven’t seen the stuff I started circulating on the other social media last night, I am making us some memes. I’m testing three right now to see what people think, and so far, the results are positive enough to make me think I might be good at it.

      Can’t wait to see what awesome things you come up with this year 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: If We were Having Coffee … (New Year’s Edition)

  4. Pingback: Weekend Coffee Share Link-Up Announcement! | Part Time Monster

  5. Your post inspired me to start a new board on Pinterest: Blogs and Bloggers – a place to pin various memes and images that link to the mind-candy I so enjoy. Coffee-holic that I am, your “run the world” meme is the first pin – lonely for now, but not for long.

    2014 was BRUTAL to me, so I have never in my life been so happy to see a New Year dawn. Mine was quiet-ish – but a brand new, very tiny Shih Tzu puppy made it the merriest in a long time too.

    Happy New Year to you (and to all who take the time to blog, and their readers). Onward and upward. May 2015 be the best year EVER!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Like

    • I am happy to have stimulated that idea 🙂

      Blog-related stuff is all I use the Pinterest account for. Not really worried about growing it, and I don’t spend much time over there.

      My sister has a more conventional account, and that’s the one we’re really building. Sometimes I visit 20 or 30 blogs during blogging social events and build boards to commemorate them. Eventually, we’ll start mixing in the best images from the blog posts at the other account.

      2014 was rough for me offline, awesome on the social media. I’m happy to see it go honestly. Even more happy to be starting 2015 with a couple of viable blogs, a nice Twitter account, and a nice bunch of Facebook friends who are into blogging. On October 20 of last year, I had no social media whatsoever. Progress has been made this year 🙂

      Stop by anytime!

      Like

      • Sorry to hear I’m not the only one who found 2014 personally -shall we say- “challenging”? Sounds like something went well, tho’.

        FB and Twitter make me CRAZY! – but nice to hear someone is using it for something besides “I’m here now” and sharing Words with Friends plays and political flaming. Maybe I’ll take another look this year.

        Best to you and yours.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

