Weekend Coffee Share, MidWinter Edition

If we were having coffee, I would have two, and you would not be able to get away from me until I finished the second one.

Getty stock image.

Getty stock image.

I would tell you the weather has been abysmal this week. Short-sleeve weather one day, Air-Force-arctic-rescue-jacket weather the next. And every day a gray one with 85 percent relative humidity. The days that threaten rain and no rain happens are the worst. Because you walk around in a topcoat that is too warm and carry the stupid umbrella all day long for no reason. There is a #FirstWorldProblem for you.

I would tell you I need a certain amount of sunlight on my face to function properly and I have not been getting it because there has been no sun for a week or two in this god-forsaken corner of the world that supposedly has enough annual sunny days to qualify as a golfing destination. And I would confide that as difficult and exasperating as December and the holidays are, this stretch from late January to mid-February is consistently worse.

This is the low point of the year. It’s my Kryptonite. That actually makes a certain amount of geeky sense if you understand the logic of Superman, even though I ain’t Superman.

Somehow, I ended the week on top of the job and better off on the social media than I was the week before. And family stuff happened. We had a bout of sickness that resulted in a late-night trip to the ER, but we mostly handled it.

Everyone is better now, and that is not the big news of the week. The big news is that the grandson got his first glasses. He picked out the frames all by himself. He loves them, and he is so cute. Also, says he can see better.

He refused to have round ones because “doze are 4 science newds.” Then of course we had to have a long conversation about how we are all nerds about something, but really, the old grandpaw is more of a geek. It was cool. Much socialization, with a kid who has been doing free comic book day since he was three.

I’m trying not to think about him going to school with the new glasses next week. I remember my first day at school with glasses. Holding my breath until he gets home on Monday and tells us how it went.

He was also referred to by a professional educator this week as “a deep thinker, capable of understanding concepts most of his peers are not even aware of yet.” So apparently, I am doing at least some of my job. And before either the glasses or the crazy-good assessment of his cognitive development happened, way earlier in the week, I came home to find he’d learned this without any help from the grownups at all.

live_long_prosper_2015Apparently, he picked it right out of the media and decided it was cool enough to share. I gave it right back to him, of course. He tried to high-five me with it and then we talked about how Vulcans doing high-fives is almost as silly as Elves doing them. How the way to respond when someone returns your Vulcan salute is to say “Live Long And Prosper.”

That launched an entire conversation about prosperity which would require a whole other post to unpack, because there were Monopoloy analogies, this is a six-year-old I am talking about, and it took all the restraint I could muster to not sing L’Internationale to him by the time we were done. This child won the first game of Monopoly he ever played and then cried when he realized he’d bankrupted everyone else.

He often perches on the arm of my chair and questions me incessantly about the blogging, by the way. He is offended that I do not share more photos of him on the Internet so everyone can see how awesome he is. I try to explain about how I am casting a very wide social media net and we can’t afford for me to put his face on the Internet very often. He doesn’t care. “Put me on da’  website,” is the response I get when I take that line.

He’ll be blogging before we know it.

Note: This happened to late to go in the post proper, but the 1,000 Voices for Compassion Facebook group reached 1,000 members overnight. There’s also a WordPress blog associated with that project now.

22 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share, MidWinter Edition

  1. I remember when my daughter got her first glasses – this combined with a patch. Her peers were mostly supportive and we talked about things. She adapted well until she got to her teenage years. Now she wears contact lenses and wouldn’t go to school in her glasses if it was an order from the headteacher himself! We still talk about things, and that’s all you can do – that and be there for them. The relationship you have with your grandson sounds wonderful, so I’m sure he carries the strength of that bond with him.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aren’t grandchildren the best thing ever?! It is the only way I can make it through the day a lot of the time, especially during this part of bleakness. I moved from sunny California to wet Oregon seven years ago and it seems that each year it gets colder and gloomier than the year before. It it weren’t for my grandsons, I wouldn’t survive up here! They are my sunshine.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes indeed! I think this time of year hits me so hard because the weather is spectactular here nine months out of the year, and we don’t really get enough cold to ever become accustomed to it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ugh. The weather. I feel like I shouldn’t complain because compared to other parts of the country our weather’s pretty mild. But I can’t deal with the cold any more. One of my best friends lives in Aspen. She claims that it feels colder here (the Carolinas) than it does in Aspen! She says it’s the moisture that is constantly present here in the good ‘ol Southeast. Of course, you know all about humidity…

    And I love the conversation with your grandson. My son is 14 and we STILL have conversations that start one place and go off in many different directions. He’s been that way since he could talk. I imagine you’ll be having these conversations with your grandson for many years to come.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your grandson sounds super cute. I just blogged about my child and the 2 hours we spent at Accident and Medical tonight. That’s what I’d tell you about if we were having coffee. I’d probably be having an iced chocolate actually, because it’s so stinking hot at the moment over here!

    Like

Talk to Me!

