#WeekendCoffeeShare (Afternoon Edition)

If we were having coffee, it would have to be afternoon coffee, because I slept in today. I’d tellyou this has been one of those weeks that just seemed to go on and on. It’s hard to believe that Natacha’s first post at Sourcerer ran a mere five days ago and that Luther is already back with a Walking Dead post. It has been a very eventful week for me on the internet.

Getty stock image.

Getty stock image.

The first Feminist Friday discussion of 2015 is going well at Part Time Monster. I am looking forward to next week’s Feminist Friday at Victim to Charm, and am glad to have these rolling again. I also announced Blogging A to Z participation at both blogs and visited a few of the co-hosts. I am trying to visit them all at least once over the next couple of weeks. I’ve also been keeping tabs on 1000 Voices Speaking for Compassion and I’ve joined the Blog Blitz team. Like I said. Eventful.

The offline life has been equally busy with work stuff and grandson time. The highlights of the week were me hitting a hole-in-one in Kinect Golf and a conversation we had last night about Star Wars. That conversation started out with a simple-enough question about why Boba Fett works for Darth Vader instead of for the Rebel Alliance and ended with me explaining what mercenaries are. Which made me think of this song. I did not play it for my grandson, because neither the lyrics nor the video are age-appropriate. But you might like it, and the art development is interesting 🙂

And I would tell you next week is probably going to feel just as long as this one, but I am looking forward to it. We’re kicking off a series by Rose B. Fischer at Sourcerer on Monday, and I am announcing that one tomorrow. I am also hosting #SundayBlogShare on Twitter tomorrow, and I am looking forward to it. The last time I did it, I had a blast. If you happen to be tweeting tomorrow, do share a link or two with us.

Then I’d ask you how your week is going.

13 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare (Afternoon Edition)

  1. You did have a big week. I don’t know how you do it all. I’ve got half of one blog, running two blogs is unimaginable to me. I’ve had those days with my own kids. Just wait for the “Han shot first” talk. That is not an easy chat to have with your kid.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, fortunately, we have the unedited original movie, so Han actually shoots first in the one we watch.

      It was a big week, but things had to get done. Sourcerer is pretty much set up to run itself once we get Rose’s series under way, and long-term, I do not plan to post here as much as I have this month. This is really a weekend blog, except when I have news to report or some social activity to promote.

      Like

    • Just revisiting some threads because I am getting comments on them, and I just scanned this post again. I am struck by how utterly cool it would have been had to have a grandfather who could play video games.

      Two things: The Feminist Friday got comments today. I think long-term, posting less often here and making it a blogger-centric blog is going to be helpful. Posting once-or-twice a week is a a tradeoff. Less opportunity to get into newsfeeds at peak internet times. But, much easier for people who follow it to read everything.

      Also, after seeing the first Blog Blitz go down, I am in the mood to give it the full endorsement and will do that in a post soon. You get an email with two front-page links to other Blog Blitzers. You go visit and leave a positive comment. You also get am emailed reminder around noon. And that seems to be it. Just what it says on the tin.

      I went as soon as I got the first one. It’s been interesting to watch the threads grow and look at the people who made the blitz. It requires less work than writing a post for a link-up, and a lot of bloggers I recognize and good at what they do and into postive social interaction are in on it. It is good Karma, if nothing else.

      Like

  2. I had to sleep in this morning, too! Busy, tough week. I’m still looking for a copy of the original Star Wars to share with my grandson. Mine disappeared during one of my kids’ moves. I don’t know which one took it or what they did with it. It’s a favorite movie and I think my grandson would really enjoy it.

    I see how busy you’ve been. You are everywhere I turn! I joined the A to Z Challenge as well and the Blog Blitz and #1000Speak. Probably something else, too. I keep joining stuff!

    Have a good week and see you next weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it has been a busy month for joining. But the Blog Blitz isn’t a lot of work, and at the other two have definite end dates. I’m definitely not taking on anything else until I get some writing done 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Gene, running two blogs is a lot. Me, I have trouble just running one. But there’s no way I could quit that. I need to blog. I don;t think it’s a waste of time at all.

    Like

    • The blogs do keep me busy, but I don’t know what I’d do without them. Building Sourcerer was a LOT of work, and took a year to get mostly-right, but I guess I did a good job because other bloggers seem to like posting there, and that is its whole point. 🙂

      I tried blogging every day at both for awhile when I first started, and that did not go well. This one’s turned into a mostly-weekly blog, except when I have things like the Blog Blitz, blog hops, etc. to share.

      Thanks for stopping by! I am really looking forward to A to Z this year. Last year was my first, and it was one of the highlights of 2014 for me.

      Like

Talk to Me!

