Weekend Coffee Share: We Made it Happen Edition

If we were having coffee, I would tell you the big news of the week is that we’ve compiled most of the 2014 Feminist Friday discussion posts into an e-book,  Feminist Bloggers: The 2014 Collection. We left out a few of my posts that were’t essay-quality, but all the other hosts’ articles are there along with several of my own. Natacha Guyot edited and published it for us and Gretchen Kelly wrote the foreword. Jennifer Miller was kind enough to design the cover for us using a background by Rose B. Fischer. It’s available for free on Smashwords.feministbloggersLOGOVERSION

I’d tell you we went into the book project with every intention of offering it for free. But so far, Amazon has not allowed us to mark it down (we’ve contacted them about it). So it will be available tomorrow for $0.99 on Amazon. The royalty is $0.35, and any money it generates will be donated to a charity agreed to by all the authors.

We’re in the process of brainstorming and doing research right now, in the event it actually makes a money. If it does, it will not be much. But it’s important to us that we not take a profit from this project. Since it’s available for Kindle on Smashwords, we aren’t even promoting the Amazon link, and if we aren’t allowed to mark it down after the release, we will not be publishing next year’s volume on Amazon.

We chose the release date to coincide with International Women’s Day and we worked very hard to get the book together in time to make that deadline. This year’s theme is “Make it Happen.” Natacha only had this idea a month ago, so this is definitely a case of some feminists making it happen. The whole project is, really. A little over a year ago, this running conversation we’re having was three bloggers talking about gender inequality occasionally on comment threads.

Featured Image -- 3218And I would tell you there are so many other goings-on, it is hard to keep up. I’ve been joining in A to Z Challenge Twitter chats on Thursdays for the past couple of weeks. These happen at 1 pm and 8 pm eastern, and they are fun. A few co-hosts show up and post questions using #azchat and #atozchallenge. Everyone answers them using the hashtags, and there is conversation.

If you’re doing A to Z, I recommend giving the Twitter chats a try. I’m planning to do both chats this Thursday, and I am hoping Diana will be able to join us for at least one of those. And speaking of A to Z . . .

I am not sure yet that I am sticking in with this blog, and that is why I haven’t announced in a post yet. I have my topics and theme, but I also have a LOT of writing commitments to work through over the next couple of weeks. Whether I can produce 26 posts or not is going to depend on how much I get done this week. If I am not 100 percent by reveal day, I will contact A to Z and request removal from the list.

Click to sign up!

Click to sign up!

Sourcerer has a theme and is in for sure. I’ve created a Facebook group for contributors to help manage that blog. It’s a secret group, so you won’t be able to find it and send a join request. If you’re a contributor, and I haven’t invited you to the group yet, you have an invitation and feel free to say you want in. If not, I’ll contact you soon.

And I would tell you that’s not the half of it.

Comparative Geeks issued a call for guest blogging contributions to help them keep their blog going when their baby arrives. I promised them at least three posts a few weeks ago, and two will be written soon. Several other bloggers have signed on as well. You should check out the thread on the call for contributions. It’s heartwarming.

1000 Voices for Compassion is posting again on March 20. The theme is “Building After Bullying.” You can find more information in the pinned post in the Facebook group. I’m not writing for this one or giving it a lot of public promotion, but I am still on board with that project and helping them build their Twitter account, which is now above 400 followers and has been tweeting compassion links all week thanks to the help of Roshni from Indian American Mom.

And I am sure I missed something, but I am out of coffee now. Don’t forget to add your “If We Were having Coffee” post to the linky at Part Time Monster and share it using #WeekendCoffeeShare.

Have a great week! I’ll see you on the Twitters.

3 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: We Made it Happen Edition

  1. I know you’re busy, but I’ve got a Blog Pitch Party going on. Would be a great way to bring more people over to your wonderful blogs. I know you like hooking up blogs as much as I do, mt friend…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the book idea and Amazon are a pain. They won’t like that it’s available cheaper elsewhere either. Part of the agreement to having you on there is that your book has to be cheaper on Amazon than anywhere else so it’s ridiculous that this can’t be resolved. Though they wouldn’t make any money…. Please send me some of your energy!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

