So, That Was Fun!

The A to Z Challenge mayhem is over and I managed to place my reflection 19th on the linky list. Good job, Gene’O! I am up early, did not write a real coffee post last week, and am in the mood to write something in a hurry and publish it. So here goes!

Next on the Blogs:

We’re starting a new monthly feature at Sourcerer called Sourcerer’s Eleven. These are 11-question author/blogger interviews to run the first Monday of every month. It’s a fiendishly clever scheme. The way it works is the person interviewed conducts the next one. First Victim: Luther M. Siler, who contributes to Sourcerer and just released Sanctum of the Sphere, part II of The Benevolence Archives.Sourcerer

Part Time Monster is developing a new feature called Monster Monday. Will be good. Details in the last #WeekendCoffeeShare post if you missed it. Also good: The #LazyLambs Book Club.

Diana’s about to start the next run of Penny Dreadful posts at Sourcerer. If you follow that show, you don’t want to miss them. Last year’s Penny Dreadful reviews were some of our most popular posts of the year. Here’s our Penny Dreadful category archive.

As you may have heard, our friends over at Comparative Geeks are expecting their first child soon. They went out for guest posts to help keep CG running through May and June, and a LOT of good bloggers stepped up, including several Sourcerer contributors. Diana and I are doing a substantial number of posts on Neil Gaiman’s Sandman for them. These will include at least six Thursday Thirteens — three from each of us — plus a few more substantial posts.

There’s so much more I could mention. I have a lot of friends who are starting up collaborative projects in the next month or so, and of course we’ll have a summer run of Feminist Fridays. Stay tuned, and I’ll do my best to keep you apprised of developments. This blog is evolving into a sort of news outlet for my little corner of the blogosphere.

The State of the Network

arrrr, mateys!

arrrr, mateys!

April’s been an absolutely crazy month, but the Facebook operation is proceeding apace. I haven’t had much Twitter time lately. I don’t think we’ve lost much ground there, but I’ve got to trust the system I’ve set up to get what we can from Facebook and get myself back to Twitter soon.

I’ve got an app called Buffer now that allows me to schedule 100 Facebook updates for both my page AND my timeline, schedule 100 tweets each for multiple Twitter accounts, 100 Google Plus shares, and 100 Pinterest pins. I can have a different schedule for every day and a different schedule for each social media account. I can edit things that are scheduled before they run and change the queue order easily. It has its own link-shortening system, so I get analytics.

I can follow 15 RSS feeds and share them directly from my Buffer dashboard. And it archives everything, so I can take something I tweeted two weeks ago and tweet it again without a lot of work. It’s fabulous and I plan to leverage it to the hilt just as soon as I have a day to set it up properly.

Here’s where I am with the various networks, and my goals through the end of the quarter.

Blogs — Coffee posts and occasional announcements here. That’s all this blog is good for, and frankly, all I have time to do with it. Sourcerer is all pop culture, all the time and we’re in good shape, content-wise. We may take Sundays off for a while over there, but otherwise, it’s business as usual.

Facebook — The Just Gene’O page is so dead it’s pointless. I’ve connected this blog back to Sourcerer’s page and Twitter account. No more than I post here, and given that Part Time Monster is also publicizing to Sourcerer’s page, that makes the most sense for now.

I’m scheduling three public status updates per day on my personal timeline. These are typically a Sourcerer link in the morning, a link for a friend at noon, and a Part Time Monster link in the afternoon. I’m still tweaking the schedule. I spend most of my Facebook time in groups, and I am planning a somewhat-open blogging collaboration group to go live on Facebook later this year.

Twitter — Along with the publicized links, I’m scheduling three afternoon Tweets per day when I can manage it. Soon, I will mix in some just-for-fun tweets so I’m not just sharing links all the time. I just need to find time to compose them and get them into the queue.1000speakLizzi

I am coming back to Twitter. I’ve missed the #SundayBlogShares during the last two weeks of April and just in general, that’s where I prefer to interact when I’m not chatting on blog threads. I want a larger following, and I want @1000Speak to have a larger following as well. That means I have to build them.

At this point, no other networks really matter, but I am looking at StumbleUpon and Piinterest. I have accounts on both of those networks, but I’ve not had time to get properly set up on either yet. StumbleUpon is my next priority.

On all these networks, I publish during the day at what I think are the best times to post. Then I answer notifications in the evenings, and occasionally from my phone on work breaks during the day. This is not an optimal way of doing things, but it’s what I can do, and it’s working well enough.

Happy Monday, and don’t work too hard!

7 thoughts on “So, That Was Fun!

  1. You are so organized. I do what I can with the time I got. I get a bit agitated when I don’t meet my writing quota (whatever that quota is) for that week. Usually I spend more time writing blog posts. However I’m gonna convert some of that time into my novel writing. And the same goes for my reading. I’m just not feeling the blog life right now. Too much to do and too little time to do it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hear you. Nothing wrong with scaling back if you aren’t feeling it or have higher priorities. From my Sourcerer contributors policy:

      “If it ain’t fun any more, time to move on to something else.” Or something like that — that’s the sense of it anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I missed the CG call for posters, but I shall enjoy reading y ‘all’s contributions (as I always do).

    A to Z was interesting for me in that I didn’t see much change in stats, etc. Not sure if that is because I didn’t have a theme, or because my followers were busy with their own A to Z posts, or a combination. Either way, it was fun but I am glad it is done for this year 🙂

    Looking forward to the new features coming up here and PTM! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have to agree Gene’O you are so organized. I’m getting there slowly. I’m still using the free version of Buffer so I’m limited to 10 scheduled things per feed. Looking forward to learning more about how to use Buffer effectively.

    Like

  4. I thought I was going to take a day off, but then decided to find a bunch of content “sourcing” pages for Buffer (to keep my stuff full) and now I have 77 blogs to read again, haha… One of these days, I’ll grow a second torso that can do all my social networking for me. 😉

    Like

Talk to Me!

