Some Things . . . Mostly Feminist Things

We’re doing our Feminist Friday thing at Infinite Free Time this week, and I’ll wrap up the summer run here a week from Friday. And speaking of feminism . . .

Comparative Geeks turned me on to this video yesterday. It’s part one of six, and as a person who engages regularly in some feminist chatter on the internet, I find it fascinating. It’s so good I watched the whole series, and too good not to share. I may have things to say about it at some point. I’m pondering.

Also. If you happen to remember the Manic Pixie Dream Girl discussion we had in February at Victim to Charm — the one that inspired a four-part series on trolling behavior from me. Well. That post has been getting some attention lately. You should bop over there and take a look at the sharing counts on the Facebook and Twitter buttons in the post footer. And give it a read while you’re there 😉

Other news:

I’m moving forward with doubling down on Sourcerer and bringing this blog in for a somewhat graceful landing. My #WeekendCoffeeShare post will run over there this weekend, probably on Sunday, and I’m getting a real domain for that blog just as soon as I can afford it.

In the next week or two, I’ll tweak the About Page here to ensure full disclosure and change the tagline. From that point forward, this blog will be about building a resume for social commentary until I can start figuring out how to place posts on larger sites with audiences for that stuff or build a better site to host my personal commentary. Once we get through the Feminist Friday wrap-up, posting here will be extremely sporadic for a few weeks, because I’ve got higher-priority things that need doing.Feminism_free

I’ve unpublished the Just Gene’O Facebook page because it wasn’t getting me anything even when I was updating it, and I don’t want an inactive public page attached to my name.

I doubt I’ll ever bring it back. I regard the Facebook page experiment as a failure and not worth putting more time into. From where I’m sitting, the value of Facebook is all in my personal timeline and a handful of groups at this point. But of course, the Sourcerer page will continue to host publicized links, and I’m still up for helping friends build their page followings when the opportunities present themselves.

Happy hump day!

2 thoughts on “Some Things . . . Mostly Feminist Things

  1. You’ve been busy. I like seeing what you have planned. As you probably figured out, I’ve been out of touch in the blog world for a while. But now that I’ve returned from Taiwan and am back in the US permanently, it’s time to start catching up with the blogs I follow. I picked a good day to check in on you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

