#FEMINISTFRIDAY: On Teaching Girls, As a Guy

A very thoughtful post about teaching math and science to an all-girls class from Luther here. Comments on this thread are disabled to encourage discussion on the original post.

Infinitefreetime.com

ChristaMcAuliffe-1 Christa McAuliffe.

“You’re teaching an all-girls’ class?  I’m not sure I feel like that’s right.”

I heard that for the first time… wow, was it four years ago?  Probably.  My homeroom was all girls, and my afternoon class was a mixed group.  I did not reply the number of girls in my classroom doesn’t actually make me more likely to be a sex criminal, ma’am, which was probably the right answer– I am either too much of a degenerate to teach middle school students or I am not, and the composition of my classes doesn’t actually have much of an effect on that– but I don’t remember what I actually said to that mom.  Probably something along the lines of We’ll be fine, and then an abrupt ending of the conversation, because I don’t really like wasting my time with people who blithely suggest that I might be a sex…

View original post 861 more words

